The Death Of HB 14


If You Don’t Fight For Freedom You Give It Away Without Protest

HOME: 302-678-0430

CELL: 302-632-3322


April 17, 2017

Anyone who does not believe that your letters and emails to Legislators are a powerful tool, you are wrong.


March 15, 2017, The House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee

heard HB 14, Rep. Sean Lynn's second shot at a mandatory helmet law.

After testimony from AAA Atlantic, State Farm Inc., Delaware Insurance Commissioner

Trinidad Navarro, Paul and Tammy Kalp, and others supporting the bill, a motley crew

of concerned riders and fellow ABATE of Delaware members spoke against it.

A motion was made to table the bill.
It received a unanimous vote from the remaining Committee members.
That means that the bill is dead in Committee.


Stay tuned to this web site and follow us on Facebook for

the most up to date information about pending legislation.


After the vote I had the opportunity to speak with one of the committee members.
He said that although it appeared that those supporting the bill may have the statistics, we

had the numbers of people who took the time to write a letter or speak directly with them.
Please take the time to thank the individual committee members for their support on this issue.

Their contact information is below.

A BIG THANK YOU goes out to those who took the time to attend the hearing.
I would like to specifically thank Hildy, Chainsaw, and Doug Drummond.
Without their help and guidance this could have gone the other way.

My hope is that we can convince someone to run a bill like HB 95

that would remove the requirement to carry a helmet – stay tuned.


Also SB 12, the Auxiliary Lighting bill for motorcycles has been signed into law.

This law permitS the use of LED or similar lighting to be added to the body of a

motorcycle, assisting riders to be better seen during the hours of darkness.
Although it only allows for amber and white, its better than what we have now.


Ride Safe

-Ed Berner

ABATE of Delaware - Legislative Coordinator

To send Thanks, Click/Tap on the Committee Members' Email Adresses below:

Chairman: Representative John L. Mitchell -

Representative Michael Mulrooney -

Representative Melanie George Smith -

Representative James Johnson -

Representative William J. Carson -

Representative Edward S. Osienski -

Representative Gerald L. Brady -

Representative William R. Outten -

Representative David L. Wilson -

Representative Ruth Briggs-King -

Representative Steve Smyk -